The 4-Hour WorkweekThe 4-Hour Workweek by Timothy Ferriss

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I first heard about Tim Ferriss in his TED talk. Then later on happened to notice his book being referred to quite frequently in whatever ‘Do you want to start your own online business?’ podcast, YouTube channel or self-help book. I was curious about his lifestyle and decided to buy the book. I have to say a lot of the stuff is not what I was looking for. This book has a lot of useful tips for the US/North America-based aspiring entrepreneur than for anyone else. In fact, as someone who is born and brought up in India, the chapter on outsourcing all the ‘menial work’ to grateful people in Bangalore downright pissed me off! Yes master, that’s what we are here for, aren’t we?

As someone who works in a non-profit from where I have felt the need to wriggle out of, I have pretty much tried everything that Ferris suggested in his chapters for employees before I had even heard of his book, most of them do strike me as common sense, but some of us do need that extra push so it makes sense to include them. It is pretty safe to say that pretty much none of it work in the typical Indian company or government office or non-profit. Maybe it is a cultural thing, and this book was never meant for that kind of an audience. Maybe it also doesn’t seek to serve those people in developing countries with significantly more constraints than those in the West, but I gave it three stars because by the time I finished the book, I wasn’t the same person that I was when I started it. It drove me to do a lot more searching to find a host of resources that I have religiously studied in the last few months to gain the confidence to take that leap of faith I have always wanted to take. I am thankful for that.

View all my reviews

